भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान मण्डी कमांद - 175075, हिमाचल प्रदेश

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANDI KAMAND – 175075, HIMACHAL PRADESH



43^{वीं} अभिषद् बैठक का कार्यवृत्त

MINUTES OF THE 43rd SENATE MEETING

May 16, 2024

5

Ħ

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANDI KAMAND, HIMACHAL PRADESH



43rd MEETING OF SENATE THURSDAY, MAY 16, 2024

AGENDA

Item No.	PARTICULARS	Page(s)
	PART-A	
Senate 43.1.0	PROCEDURAL	4
Senate 43.1.1	To confirm the minutes of the 42 nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024.	4
Senate 43.1.2	To receive a report on the actions taken for the decisions taken in the 42 nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024.	4
Senate 43.2.0	STANDING AGENDA	4
	NIL	4
Senate 43.3.0	REGULAR AGENDA	4
Senate 43.3.1	To consider the proposal to start a new program "Bachelor of Vocation (B.Voc)".	4
Senate 43.3.2	To report decisions/actions taken by the Chairman, Senate.	4
Senate 43.4.0	TABLE AGENDA	4-5
Senate 43.4.1	Additional agenda placed on the table with the permission of the Chairperson, if any	4-5
	PART – B	
Senate 43.5.0	Issues to be discussed by the Senate without Student Members being present.	5

Page 1 of 5

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANDI

Minutes of the 43rd Senate Meeting of IIT Mandi held on May 16, 2024, at 10:30 hrs in the Board Room, North Campus, IIT Mandi, Kamand.

The following were present:

In the Chair

ł

Prof. Laxmidhar Behera, Director, IIT Mandi

Members:

Prof. Siddhartha Mukhopadhyay, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kharagpur.

Prof. Subrata Ghosh, Professor, SCS, IIT Mandi.

Prof. Suman Kalyan Pal, Professor and Chairperson SPS, IIT Mandi.

Prof. Chayan Kanti Nandi, Professor, SCS, IIT Mandi.

Prof. Satinder K. Sharma, Professor, SCEE, & Co-ordinator C4DFED, IIT Mandi.

Prof. Arti Kashyap, Professor, SPS and Dean (DCS), IIT Mandi.

Prof. Rahul Vaish, Professor, SMME and Dean (Faculty) IIT Mandi.

Prof. Syed Abbas, Professor, SMSS & Dean (SRIC & IR) IIT Mandi.

Prof. Manoj Thakur. Professor, SMSS, and Chairperson, SoM, IIT Mandi.

Prof. Anirudhha Chakraborty, Professor, SCS and Dean (Academics), IIT Mandi.

Prof. Venkata Krishnan, Professor, SCS, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Deepak Swami, Dean (I&S), IIT Mandi.

Dr. Varun Dutt, Dean (RG&AR), IIT Mandi.

Dr. Aditya Nigam, Chairperson, SCEE, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Muslim Malik, Chairperson, SMSS, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Shyam Kumar Masakapalli, Chairperson, SBB, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Atul Dhar, Chairperson, SMME, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Derick P. Shukla, Chairperson, SCENE, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Arnav Bhavsar Vinayak, Chairperson, IKSMHA, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Amit Shukla, Chairperson, CAIR, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Shubhajit Roy Chowdhury, Chairperson, HCI, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Rahul Shrestha, Associate Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Satyajitsinh A. Thakor, Associate Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Kala Venkata Uday, Associate Professor, SCENE, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Satvasheel Ramesh Powar, Associate Professor, SMME, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Amit Prasad, Associate Professor, SBB, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Surya Prakash Upadhyay, Associate Professor, SHSS, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Nitu Kumari, Associate Professor, SMSS, IIT Mandi.

Dr. Puran Singh, Associate Professor, SoM, IIT Mandi.

Shri. Rajesh Sinha, Chief Scientist & Head - Smart Machines Research Program, TCS.

Dr. P. Anil Kishan, Associate Dean (Courses), IIT Mandi.

Dr. Kumar Sambhav Pandey, Registrar & Secretary - Senate, IIT Mandi.

Minutes of 43rd Senate Meeting

Shri. Naresh Singh Bhandari, Deputy Librarian, IIT Mandi. Shri. Suresh Rohilla, Deputy Registrar (Academics), IIT Mandi. Dr. Tushar Jain, Head CCE, IIT Mandi.

Invitees:

Dr. Rohit Saluja, Assistant Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi.
Dr. Sneha Singh, Assistant Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi.
Dr. Padmanabhan Rajan, Associate Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi.
Dr. Deepak Sachan, Assistant Professor, SMME, IIT Mandi.
Dr. Jagadeesh Kadiyam, Assistant Professor, CAIR, IIT Mandi.
Dr. Prateek Saxena, Assistant Professor, SMME, IIT Mandi
Student Academic Affairs Secretary, IIT Mandi (Special Invitee).
Student PG Academic Affairs Secretary, IIT Mandi (Special Invitee).

The following Senate members/invitees could not attend the meeting due to prior commitments:

Prof. Binay Kumar Pattnaik, Dept. of HSS, IIT Kanpur. Prof. Sandeep Verma, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT Kanpur & Secretary (SERB). Prof. Pradeep C. Parameswaran, Professor and Chairperson, SCS, IIT Mandi. Prof. Rajeev Kumar, Professor, SMME, IIT Mandi. Prof. Tulika Srivastava, Professor, SBB, IIT Mandi. Prof. Rajendra K. Ray, Professor, SMSS, IIT Mandi. Prof. Prem Felix Siril, Professor, SCS, IIT Mandi. Prof. Anjan Swain, Professor, SHSS, IIT Mandi. Dr. Hitesh Shrimali, Dean (Students), IIT Mandi. Dr. Viswanath Balakrishnan, Dean (F&A), IIT Mandi. Dr. Shyamasree Dasgupta, Chairperson, SHSS, IIT Mandi. Dr. Aditi Halder, Co-ordinator, AMRC, IIT Mandi. Dr. C.S. Yadav, Chairperson, CQST, IIT Mandi. Dr. Jinesh Machhar, Assistant Professor, SCEE, IIT Mandi. Dr. Bindu Radhamany, Associate Professor, SPS, IIT Mandi. Dr. Bhaskar Mondal, Assistant Professor, SCS, IIT Mandi. Dr. Narendra Dhar, Assistant Professor, CAIR, IIT Mandi. Shri. Hemachandra Bhat, General Manager and Practice Head, Robotics Platforms, Wipro. Dr. Amit Jaiswal, Associate Dean (Research), IIT Mandi. Dr. Devika Sethi, Assistant Professor, SHSS, IIT Mandi. Student Research Affairs Secretary, IIT Mandi (Special Invitee). Student General Secretary, IIT Mandi (Special Invitee).

Minutes of 43rd Senate Meeting

The Chairman Senate extended a warm welcome to all the Senate members and Invitees attended the 43rd Senate meeting of the Institute.

Thereafter, the following agenda items were taken up.

- Senate 43.1.0 PROCEDURAL
- Senate 43.1.1 To confirm the minutes of the 42nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024.

The minutes of the 42nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024, were circulated to members of the Senate through email on February 12, 2024, for comments. No comments have been received on the minutes. In view of the above, the Senate confirmed the minutes of the 42nd Senate meeting.

Senate 43.1.2 To receive a report on the actions taken for the decisions taken in the 42nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024.

The Senate noted the actions taken on the decisions taken in the 42nd Senate meeting held on January 23, 2024.

Senate 43.2.0 STANDING AGENDA

NIL

- Senate 43.3.0 REGULAR AGENDA
- Senate 43.3.1 To consider the proposal to start a new program "Bachelor of Vocation (B.Voc)".

Prof. Manoj Thakur, in charge CCE presented the proposal to start a new program "Bachelor of Vocation (B.Voc)".

After deliberations and incorporating the suggestions from external members, the Senate resolved to approve the proposal in principle. To enhance the industry experience it was advised to organize a one-day workshop with industry stakeholders.

Additionally, the course syllabus is to be modified to reflect a hands-on approach from the perspective of tool users.

Senate 43.3.2 To report decisions/actions taken by the Chairman, Senate.

Noted.

- Senate 43.4.0 TABLE AGENDA
- Senate 43.4.1 Additional agenda placed on the table with the permission of the Chairperson, if any.

None

Senate 43.5.0 Issues to be discussed by the Senate without Student Members being present.

None

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the Chair and to the Members.

<u>f</u>e 1315/24 Chairman

Registrar & Secretary-Senate